BEC is a certificate provided by British Council and Cambridge University aimed primarily at individual learners who wish to obtain a business related English language qualification.BEC helps one to get ahead in career, as it shows that you have learnt English at an appropriate standard and can use it in a professional context.

The test covers the four English language skills:

  1. Reading
  2. Writing
  3. Listening
  4. Speaking 

BEC is available at three levels:

  1. BEC Preliminary
  2. BEC Vantage
  3. BEC Higher

All three levels of BEC are clearly linked to the Common European Framework for language assessment, published by the Council of Europe:

  1. Council of Europe Level BEC Exams Main Suite Exams
  2. B1 Preliminary PET
  3. B2 Vantage FCE
  4. C1 Higher