Academic Council

Academic Council has the powers to:

  • Scrutinize and approve the proposals with or without modification of the Boards of Studies with regard to courses of study, academic regulations, curricula, syllabi and modifications thereof, instructional and evaluation arrangements, methods, procedures relevant thereto etc., provided that where the Academic Council differs on any proposal, it shall have the right to return the matter for reconsideration to the Board of Studies concerned or reject it, after giving reasons to do so. 
  • Make regulations regarding the admission of students to different programmes of study in the college keeping in view the policy of the Government
  • Make regulations for sports, extra-curricular activities, and proper maintenance and functioning of the playgrounds and hostels. 
  • Recommend to the Governing Body proposals for institution of new programmes of study. 
  • Recommend to the Governing Body institution of scholarships, studentships, fellowships, prizes and medals, and to frame regulations for the award of the same. 
  • Advise the Governing Body on suggestions(s) pertaining to academic affairs made by it.
  • Perform such other functions as may be assigned by the Governing Body.

Academic Council Members 

1.Dr. Sudha T (Chairperson)Principal, Saintgits College of Engineering (Autonomous)
2.Mr. C J GeorgeFounder and Managing Director, Geojit Financial Services, Kochi
3.Mr. V K MathewsFounder and Executive Chairman, The IBS Group, Kochi
4.Dr. Sabu ThomasFormer Vice Chancellor, Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam and Chairman, TrEST Research Park, Trivandrum
5.Mr. R. JaishankarManaging Partner, Caldyne Thermal Systems LLP, Mumbai and Former President, SNC Lavalin Engineering India Pvt. Ltd.
6.Dr. Biju Augustine PProfessor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Technology (Govt. Engineering College), Kottayam
7.Dr. Vinod. VDepartment of Mechanical Engineering, N S S College of Engineering, Palakkad
8.Dr. Ambilikumar C. KProfessor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Government Engineering College, Thrissur
9.Dr. Anshy OonnittanAssistant Professor (Sr.) & Head in-charge, Department of Chemical Engineering
10.Dr. Susan RoseProfessor & Head, Department of Civil Engineering
11.Dr. Arun MadhuAssociateProfessor & Head, Department of Computer Science and Engineering
12.Dr. Sreekala K SAssociate Professor & Head, Department of Electronics Engineering
13.Dr. Mahendran NangalingamProfessor & Head, Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering
14.Dr. Elsa CherianAssociate Professor & Head, Department of Food Technology
15.Dr. Cherian PaulAssociate Professor & Head, Department of Mechanical Engineering
16.Dr. Jose Joy ThoppanProfessor & Associate Dean, Department of Business Administration
17.Dr. Rajesh K SProfessor & Head, Department of Computer Applications
18.Mrs. Lekha Susan JacobAssistant Professor (Spl.) & Head, Department of Mathematics
19.Dr. Suresh Babu MAssociate Professor & Head, Department of Physics
20.Dr. Siju N AntonyAssociate Professor & Head, Department of Chemistry
21.Mr. Hashim PadiyathDean, Department of Design
22.Mr. Antony JosephGeneral Manager – CRMPT and Chairman Board of Studies, Department of Humanities
23.Mr. Uttam KumarAssistant Professor (Spl.) andHead of Student Affairs
24.Dr. Soosan George TProfessor, Department of Civil Engineering and Dean Academics
25.Dr. Anju PratapProfessor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering
26.Dr. Naveen John PunnooseAssociate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering and Chief Digital Officer of Saintgits Group of Institutions                                                                       
27.Mrs. Afia S HameedAssistant Professor (Sr.), Department of Civil Engineering 
28.Dr. Riboy CheriyanProfessor, Department of Electronics Engineering and Controller of Examinations
29.Dr. Sreejith C CProfessor, Department of Mechanical Engineering and Associate Dean (Academics & Compliance)   

Academic Council Meeting Proceedings